In Stock

(Sandy) Alex G - House Of Sugar (LP)

No reviews yet Write a Review
Available At Supplier. Ships in 1 - 2 weeks
Current Stock:
Original Release Year:
Rock, Pop, Indie Pop, Indie Rock
Vinyl Record LP

Frequently Bought Together:

(Sandy) Alex G - House Of Sugar Vinyl Record Album Art
Inc. GST

Album Info

Artist: (Sandy) Alex G
Album: House Of Sugar
Released: Europe, 13 Sept 2019


A1Walk Away
A3Southern Sky
A7Project 2
B1Bad Man
B3In My Arms
B6SugarHouse (live)

Info About Buying Vinyl From Our Record Store

  • We are a small independent record store located at 91 Plenty Rd, Preston in Melbourne, Australia (North of Northcote, between Thornbury & Reservoir)
  • We buy and sell new and used vinyl records - if you have a collection you'd like to sell please click here.
  • We ship Australia wide for a flat rate of $10 for standard shipping or $15 for express post.
  • Free Shipping for orders $125 and over.
  • You can also pick up your order in store, just select Local Pickup at the checkout.
  • We also ship internationally - prices vary depending on weight and location.
  • We ship vinyls in thick, rigid carboard mailers with a crushable zone on either side, and for extra safety we bubble wrap the records.
  • In stock vinyl is usally shipped next business day, please check the availability field at the top of the product page to see whether the record is currently in stock or if it is available from the supplier as well as estimated shipping times.
  • If you order an in stock item together with a pre order or back order (listed as available from supplier rather than in stock) then the order will be shipped together when all items arrive. If you would like the in stock items shipped first please place two separate orders or contact us to arrange shipping items separately.
  • We are strongly committed to customer satisfaction. If you experience any problems with your order contact us so we can rectify the situation. If the record arrives damaged or doesn't arrive we will cover the cost of replacing or returning the record.
  • If you change your mind you have 30 days to return your record but you must cover the cost of returning it to the store.
  • You can contact our Melbourne record shop at (03) 9939 3807 or at
  • Happy Listening!


(Sandy) Alex G, the moniker of singer-songwriter Alex Giannascoli, has consistently pushed the boundaries of indie rock with his unique blend of lo-fi aesthetics, experimental soundscapes, and introspective lyrics. With his ninth studio album, "House of Sugar," Giannascoli continues to showcase his musical versatility and artistic growth.

Clocking in at just over 50 minutes, "House of Sugar" is a sprawling and ambitious record that delves into themes of love, loss, and self-reflection. The album opens with the dreamy and atmospheric track "Walk Away," setting the tone for what's to come. Giannascoli's delicate vocals float over a bed of ethereal guitars and subtle electronic textures, creating a captivating sonic landscape.

One of the standout tracks on the album is "Gretel," a hauntingly beautiful song that showcases Giannascoli's songwriting prowess. The track combines elements of folk and indie rock, with its intricate guitar melodies and introspective lyrics. The chorus is infectious, with Giannascoli's voice soaring over the driving rhythm section.

Another highlight is "Hope," a melancholic ballad that showcases Giannascoli's ability to evoke raw emotions through his music. The stripped-down instrumentation allows his vulnerable lyrics to take center stage, as he sings about the complexities of hope and longing. The track is a testament to Giannascoli's ability to create deeply personal and relatable songs.

Throughout the album, Giannascoli experiments with different genres and styles, seamlessly blending elements of folk, rock, and electronic music. Tracks like "Southern Sky" and "Sugar" incorporate electronic beats and synths, adding a fresh and modern touch to his signature lo-fi sound. These sonic experiments add depth and variety to the album, keeping the listener engaged from start to finish.

Lyrically, "House of Sugar" is introspective and poetic, with Giannascoli exploring themes of love, identity, and the passage of time. His lyrics are often cryptic and open to interpretation, inviting the listener to delve deeper into the meaning behind the words. Giannascoli's introspective musings are complemented by his unique vocal delivery, which ranges from delicate whispers to powerful falsettos.

The production on "House of Sugar" is impeccable, with Giannascoli showcasing his skills as a multi-instrumentalist and producer. The album is filled with intricate layers of guitars, keyboards, and percussion, creating a rich and textured sonic landscape. The attention to detail is evident, with each instrument and sound carefully placed to create a cohesive and immersive listening experience.

While "House of Sugar" is undoubtedly a strong album, it may not be for everyone. The lo-fi production and experimental nature of the music may not appeal to those looking for more conventional indie rock. However, for fans of (Sandy) Alex G's previous work and those who appreciate artistry and innovation, this album is a must-listen.

In conclusion, "House of Sugar" is a captivating and introspective album that showcases (Sandy) Alex G's growth as a musician and songwriter. With its dreamy soundscapes, poetic lyrics, and genre-bending experimentation, the album is a testament to Giannascoli's artistic vision and musical talent. "House of Sugar" is a must-listen for fans of indie rock and anyone looking for a unique and immersive musical experience.

Product Reviews